When you have an expense of several hundred dollars, that can seem like a great place to cut costs. But the reality is that reducing the cost of ink makes a negligible impact on profit margins given the small amount of ink that is actually used to decorate an individual product.
For example, if you had an order of shirts that needed an 8.5-inch X 11-inch full bleed print, and you used an SG800 with Extended Capacity Cartridges, your ink cost per shirt would be $0.44. If you cut your ink costs by 50 percent, it would save $0.22 per shirt in production costs but will cost much more in waste and rework with lower quality ink that does not have the desired consistency.
-Jimmy Lamb, Sawgrass