Mobile device personalization tends to have a very large profit margin, and yet can still provide a very low cost advertising method for the end user. Cases are extremely durable, but not extremely difficult to produce. Just print, press, and apply, and you have a finished product. For example, you can typically create an iPhone case for around $3 to $4 in total cost, and then resell those to the end user for $10 to $15 each. The initial equipment start up can be as low as $1,200, so any retailer or provider can be set up quickly to produce the cases or other sublimated items.
-Aaron Montgomery, MontCo Consulting